Saga Noren / The Bridge: the Car, the Scar, the Leather Pants

Screen Shot 2014-02-10 at 11.49.21 PM.png

Have you guys watched The Bridge yet? If not, take a second and check out the show’s trailer along with the beautiful, haunting opening music. As I am apt to do, I just binge-watched the entire first season and am now even more totally amped on all things Swedish. I’m also starting to have some slight career regretsies as the female lead Saga Noren makes being a detective look painfully cool. Case in point: this bad bitch wears the same beige sweater, too-large olive wool coat, and LEATHER PANTS while solving murders for, like, weeks on end. She (literally!) never changes except to have casual sex with some bar guy or when she’s having a bullet wound dressed or whatever. Something tells me the show’s stylist was just like, “Well, she’s a badass detective in Sweden. Maybe let’s dress her in Acne leather jackets and well-fitting pants? Actually, NOPE.” And the effect is amazing.

The-Bridge-009-1.jpg
Photo from The Guardian

Let’s also take a moment to address the car in which she tools around Stockholm and Copenhagen: a green 1977 Porsche 911. Okay then. I see you, girl.

0_LaBwhRvETS-n1xggC1cwK24a71C0RhAkvQa2fdKAgA.jpg

And one more moment to address the scar that runs from Saga’s nose to her lip. I thought there might be some backstory to it on the show but it turns out that the actress Sofia Helin got it from a horrible biking accident. She’s said in interviews that she likes the scar, and it shows who she is: a complicated person. Fifty thumbs up for that.

So a toast to you, Saga. I am wearing my hair unwashed and limp today and donning a sloppy beige sweater in honor of your amazing, no-fucks-given style.

 
21
Kudos
 
21
Kudos

Now read this

I Have Decided That Tami Taylor Is Not Here For Your Bullshit

This is a post about TV’s most righteous babe Tami Taylor and her luscious crown of golden waves, but before we get into that I have to get something off my chest. I just scrolled past an ad on Facebook boasting the benefits of wearing,... Continue →